Archdioces of Milwaukee Print Logo  

Service in the Diaconate

The Vatican II awards were established in 1991 to honor men, women and young adults who exemplify the Catholic Church’s vision set forth in the Second Vatican Council. The past recipients for Service in Communication are:

Vatican II Award for Service in the Diaconate 

Criteria for receiving the award:
The recipient must

  • have a collaborative sense of ministry with the archbishop, priests and laity; foster a closeness between the ordained and the laity in the apostolate of service to the People of God.

  • witness to the Gospel value of sacrificial love in the various spheres of family, work, parish, school in addition to existing pastoral structures.

  • witness to the dignity of work while recognizing and acting on the opportunities to evangelize in his secular profession, boldly proclaiming the Gospel of life.

  • be recognized by his fidelity (as a deacon): to the Order as a driving force for service; Church teachings; prayerful diaconal lifestyle and obedience to the Magisterium.

  • witness to the sanctity of married life (if married) while balancing work and ministry in a healthy fashion.

Past Recipients:

2016 - Deacon Thomas Surges
2017 - Deacon David Zimprich
2018 - Deacon Daniel Kehrer  

This site is powered by the Northwoods Titan Content Management System

The Archdiocese of Milwaukee

3501 South Lake Drive
PO Box 070912
Milwaukee, WI 53207-0912

Phone:  (414) 769-3300
Toll-Free: (800) 769-9373
Fax:  (414)  769-3408