Archdioces of Milwaukee Print Logo  

Conventual Franciscan Friars

Midwest Province of Conventual Franciscans

Midwest Province of Conventual Franciscans

The Franciscan Order was founded by St. Francis of Assisi in 1209. With over five thousand followers in his lifetime, he inspired his energetic and talented friars toward the broad task of helping to transform every level of society. After Francis' death in 1226, it became increasingly clear that the charism given to Francis and his community could not be contained within one singular expression of Gospel life. In 1517 the Order was divided into autonomous branches, each following a valid, yet different, observance of the Franciscan Rule.

Since the 13th century, the friars of the “conventual” tradition have ministered primarily in urban centers. It was in the heart of the European cities where they touched all levels of society with the Good News of Christ Incarnate. Many of the large churches and ministry centers constructed in the earliest years of the Franciscan movement are still administered by the Conventual friars to this day.

Today, the Conventual Franciscans also minister in five provinces in North America. The St. Bonaventure Province is located in the Midwest with its headquarters in Chicago. Our priests and brothers are involved in parishes, education, evangelization, health care, chaplaincy and missionary work. Devotion to the Blessed Mother and Eucharistic Adoration are the foundations of our life of prayer, fraternity and charity.


Br. Joseph Wood OFM Conv.
Conventual Franciscans
Vocation Office
Sacred Heart Friary
6107 North Kenmore Avenue
Chicago, Illinois 60660
773-764-8811 ext. 223



This site is powered by the Northwoods Titan Content Management System

The Archdiocese of Milwaukee

3501 South Lake Drive
St. Francis, WI 53235

Phone:  (414) 769-3300
Toll-Free: (800) 769-9373
Fax:  (414)  769-3408