Archdioces of Milwaukee Print Logo  

The Symbols of Pentecost

A brief description of the four symbols of Pentecost.


Representing God’s first breath of love (Ruah) into all of creation. A “driving wind” surrounded the apostles on that first Pentecost to strengthen them in their faith. The breath of the Holy Spirit – and sometimes a gusting wind – strengthens and challenges God’s people on their faith journey.


Representing the Holy Spirit, who filled the apostles with enthusiasm, replacing their fear with the courage to go forth and share Christ’s story. “Tongues of fire … came to rest on each one of them.”


The color of liturgical vestments on Pentecost, representing the dynamism of the Holy Spirit and the zeal of those who open their hearts to the Spirit.


Representing new life and the commitment first made at the time of our baptism and renewed throughout our faith lives.


Representing the Holy Spirit that descended “like a dove” and hovered over Jesus when he was baptized. Symbol of peace.

Kim Mandelkow

Susan Skibba
Project & MissionInsite Coordinator

This site is powered by the Northwoods Titan Content Management System

The Archdiocese of Milwaukee

3501 South Lake Drive
PO Box 070912
Milwaukee, WI 53207-0912

Phone:  (414) 769-3300
Toll-Free: (800) 769-9373
Fax:  (414)  769-3408