Archdioces of Milwaukee Print Logo  

Liturgical Calendar

The liturgical calendar begins with the First Sunday of Advent, typically the last Sunday in November or the first Sunday in December.

The liturgical calendar begins with the First Sunday of Advent, usually the last Sunday in November or the first Sunday in December.

Note: For your convenience, we've also posted special liturgies or celebrations specific to the Archdiocese of Milwaukee like Ordination, Adult Confirmation, etc.


2017-2018 Printable PDF

 

AUGUST 2017

Sunday, August 6 – Transfiguration of the Lord
Tuesday, August 15 – The Assumption of Mary – Holy Day of Obligation

SEPTEMBER 2017

Ordinary Time

OCTOBER 2017

Ordinary Time

NOVEMBER 2017

Wednesday, November 1 – All Saints Day – Holy Day of Obligation
Thursday, November 2 – All Souls Day
Sunday, November 26 – Christ the King

DECEMBER 2017

Sunday, December 3 – First Sunday of Advent; beginning of new Liturgical Year (Year B: Sunday cycle; Cycle II: Weekday Cycle)

Friday, December 8 – Feast, The Immaculate Conception – Holy Day of Obligation

Tuesday, December 12 – Our Lady of Guadalupe

Sunday, December 24 – Fourth Sunday of Lent, Christmas Eve

Monday, December 25 – Christmas – Holy Day of Obligation

Sunday, December 31 – Feast of the Holy Family

JANUARY 2018

Monday, January 1 – Solemnity of Mary, Mother of God – Not a Holy Day of Obligation

Sunday, January 7 – The Epiphany of the Lord

Monday, January 8 – Feast of the Baptism of the Lord

Sunday, January 14 – Second Sunday in Ordinary Time

Thurs.-Thurs., January 18-25 – Week of Prayer for Christian Unity

FEBRUARY 2018

Friday, February 2 – Presentation of the Lord

Wednesday, February 14 – Ash Wednesday

Sunday, February 18 – First Sunday in Lent
     Rite of Election (1:30 p.m. – Cathedral of St. John the Evangelist, Milwaukee)

Sunday, February 25 – Second Sunday in Lent
     Rite of Election (1:30 & 3:30 p.m. – Cathedral of St. John the Evangelist, Milwaukee)

MARCH 2018

Sunday, March 4 – Third Sunday in Lent

Sunday, March 11 – Fourth Sunday in Lent

Sunday, March 18 – Fifth Sunday in Lent

Sunday, March 25 – Palm Sunday of the Lord’s Passion

Tuesday, March 27 – Chrism Mass (Cathedral of St. John the Evangelist, Milwaukee, 7:30 p.m.)

Thurs.-Sat., March 29-31 – Triduum (Holy Thursday, Good Friday, Easter Vigil)

(Easter Vigil may begin no earlier than 8:00 PM)

APRIL 2018

Sunday, April 1 – Easter Sunday

Mon.-Sat. April 2-7 – Octave of Easter (Every day is a Solemnity.)

Sunday, April 8 – 2nd Sunday of Easter (Divine Mercy Sunday)

Monday, April 9 – The Annunciation of the Lord

Sunday, April 15 – 3rd Sunday of Easter

Saturday, April 21 – Transitional Deacon Ordination                                                                                      
     (10:30 a.m. Cathedral of St. John the Evangelist, Milwaukee)

Sunday, April 22 – 4th Sunday of Easter

Sunday, April 29 – 5th Sunday of Easter

MAY 2018

Sunday, May 6 – 6th Sunday of Easter

Sunday, May 13 – Ascension of the Lord – Holy Day of Obligation

Saturday, May 19 – Ordination to Priesthood

Sunday, May 20 – Pentecost
     Adult Confirmation (Registration Required)
     (2 p.m. – Cathedral of St. John the Evangelist Milwaukee)

Monday, May 21 – Ordinary Time resumes

Sunday, May 27 – Most Holy Trinity

JUNE 2018

Sunday, June 3 – Body and Blood of Christ

Friday, June 8 – The Most Sacred Heart of Jesus

JULY 2018

Ordinary Time

AUGUST 2018

Sunday, August 6 – Transfiguration of the Lord

Wednesday, August 15 – The Assumption of Mary – Holy Day of Obligation

SEPTEMBER 2018

Ordinary Time

OCTOBER 2018

Ordinary Time

NOVEMBER 2018

Thursday, November 1 – All Saints Day – Holy Day of Obligation

Friday, November 2 – All Souls Day

Sunday, November 18 – Opening Mass, 175th Anniversary of the Archdiocese of Milwaukee

Sunday, November 25 – Christ the King

DECEMBER 2018

Sunday, December 2 – First Sunday of Advent; beginning of new Liturgical Year

* Please note - Whenever January 1, the solemnity of Mary, Mother of God, or August 15, the solemnity of the Assumption, or November 1, the solemnity of All Saints, falls on a Saturday or on a Monday, the obligation to attend Mass is lifted.

This site is powered by the Northwoods Titan Content Management System
X
 

The Archdiocese of Milwaukee

3501 South Lake Drive
PO Box 070912
Milwaukee, WI 53207-0912

Phone:  (414) 769-3300
Toll-Free: (800) 769-9373
Fax:  (414)  769-3408