Archdioces of Milwaukee Print Logo  

Liturgical Calendar

The liturgical calendar begins with the First Sunday of Advent, typically the last Sunday in November or the first Sunday in December.

The liturgical calendar begins with the First Sunday of Advent, usually the last Sunday in November or the first Sunday in December.

Note: For your convenience, we've also posted special liturgies or celebrations specific to the Archdiocese of Milwaukee like Ordination, Adult Confirmation, etc.


2016-2017 Printable PDF

 

DECEMBER 2016

Thursday, December 8 – Feast, The Immaculate Conception – Holy Day of Obligation
Monday, December 12 – Our Lady of Guadalupe
Saturday, December 24 – Christmas Eve
Sunday, December 25 – Christmas – Holy Day of Obligation
Friday, December 30 – Feast of the Holy Family

JANUARY 2017

Sunday, January 1 – Solemnity of Mary, Mother of God
Sunday, January 8 – The Epiphany of the Lord
Monday, January 9 – Feast of the Baptism of the Lord
Sunday, January 15 – Second Sunday in Ordinary Time
Sun.-Sun., January 18-25 – Week of Prayer for Christian Unity

FEBRUARY 2017

Thursday, February 2 – Presentation of the Lord
 
MARCH 2017

Wednesday, March 1 – Ash Wednesday
Sunday, March 5 – First Sunday in Lent
     Rite of Election (1:30 & 3:30 p.m. – Cathedral of St. John the Evangelist, Milwaukee)
Sunday, March 12 – Second Sunday in Lent
     Rite of Election (1:30 & 3:30 p.m. – Cathedral of St. John the Evangelist, Milwaukee)
Sunday, March 19 – Third Sunday in Lent
Sunday, March 26 – Fourth Sunday in Lent

APRIL 2017

Sunday, April 2 – Fifth Sunday in Lent
Sunday, April 9 – Palm Sunday of the Lord’s Passion
Tuesday, April 11 – Chrism Mass (Cathedral of St. John the Evangelist, Milwaukee, 7:30 p.m.)
Thurs.-Sat., April 13-15 – Triduum (Holy Thursday, Good Friday, Easter Vigil)
     (Easter Vigil may begin no earlier than 8:00 PM)
Sunday, April 16 – Easter Sunday
Mon.-Sat. April 17-23 – Octave of Easter (Every day is a Solemnity.)
Sunday, April 23 – 2nd Sunday of Easter (Divine Mercy Sunday)
Sunday, April 30 – 3rd Sunday of Easter

MAY 2017

Sunday, May 7 – 4th Sunday of Easter
Sunday, May 14 – 5th Sunday of Easter
Sunday, May 21 – 6th Sunday of Easter
Sunday, May 28 – Ascension of the Lord – Holy Day of Obligation
 
JUNE 2017

Sunday, June 4 – Pentecost
     Adult Confirmation (Registration Required)
     (2 p.m. – Cathedral of St. John the Evangelist Milwaukee)
Monday, June 5 – Ordinary Time resumes
Sunday, June 11 – Most Holy Trinity
Sunday, June 18 – Body and Blood of Christ

JULY 2017

Saturday, July 22 – Ordination to Priesthood
     (10:30 a.m. Cathedral of St. John the Evangelist, Milwaukee)

AUGUST 2017

Sunday, August 6 – Transfiguration of the Lord
Tuesday, August 15 – The Assumption of Mary – Holy Day of Obligation

SEPTEMBER 2017

Ordinary Time

OCTOBER 2017

Ordinary Time

NOVEMBER 2017

Wednesday, November 1 – All Saints Day – Holy Day of Obligation
Thursday, November 2 – All Souls Day
Sunday, November 26 – Christ the King

DECEMBER 2017

Sunday, December 3 – First Sunday of Advent; beginning of new Liturgical Year
 

* Please note - Whenever January 1, the solemnity of Mary, Mother of God, or August 15, the solemnity of the Assumption, or November 1, the solemnity of All Saints, falls on a Saturday or on a Monday, the obligation to attend Mass is lifted.

This site is powered by the Northwoods Titan Content Management System
X
 

The Archdiocese of Milwaukee

3501 South Lake Drive
PO Box 070912
Milwaukee, WI 53207-0912

Phone:  (414) 769-3300
Toll-Free: (800) 769-9373
Fax:  (414)  769-3408