Archdioces of Milwaukee Print Logo  

Lent 2018

The three traditional pillars of Lenten observance are prayer, fasting and almsgiving.

Our observance of Lent begins on Ash Wednesday, February 14, 2018, a day of fast and abstinence for Catholics. At Mass on Ash Wednesday, the imposition of ashes replicates an ancient penitential practice and symbolizes our dependence upon God's mercy and forgiveness. This year, Easter falls on Sunday, April 1, 2018.

The three traditional pillars of Lenten observance are prayer, fasting and almsgiving. The Church asks us to surrender ourselves to prayer and to the reading of Scripture, to fasting and to giving alms. The fasting that all do together on Fridays is but a sign of the daily Lenten discipline of individuals and households: fasting for certain periods of time, fasting from certain foods, but also fasting from other things and activities. Likewise, the giving of alms is some effort to share this world equally — not only through the distribution of money, but through the sharing of our time and talents.

In addition, Lent is about more than these individual practices. As Catholics we are all responsible to "hand on the faith" through our actions as witnessed by those who are joining us through the Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults (RCIA) process. For more information about RCIA, please click here

  • To find a Mass near you, please click "Find a Mass" on the top of this page (for special Masses, enter keywords "Ash Wednesday," "Easter," etc.)
  • Find opportunities to participate in the sacrament of reconciliation by clicking "Find a Confession." We also have printable "How to Go to Confession/Act of Contrition" Cards (English and Spanish)

  • To learn more about Lent, please visit the website of the USCCB by clicking here.



Please wait while we gather your results.

Fast and Abstinence

Fasting requires that a person take only one meal a day, but current Church discipline permits one to take a main meal and two lesser meals which together do not equal the main meal.


Liturgical Calendar

The liturgical calendar begins with the First Sunday of Advent, typically the last Sunday in November or the first Sunday in December.


Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults

The Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults includes the celebration of the sacraments of baptism, confirmation and Eucharist, but also all of the rites of the catechumenate.


The Sacraments

The liturgical life of the Catholic Church revolves around the Eucharistic sacrifice and the seven sacraments.



Many parishes throughout the Archdiocese of Milwaukee hold great fish frys during Lent. Find a parish fish fry near you!



Faith-Filled Podcasts

Check out the latest episodes of Two Guys and a Gospel, Living Our Faith, and Viviendo Nuestra Fe.

Office for Worship

Dean Daniels

Susan Skibba
Administrative Assistant

This site is powered by the Northwoods Titan Content Management System

The Archdiocese of Milwaukee

3501 South Lake Drive
PO Box 070912
Milwaukee, WI 53207-0912

Phone:  (414) 769-3300
Toll-Free: (800) 769-9373
Fax:  (414)  769-3408